Illinois Gun Laws
Illinois State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. Always Consult An Attorney
|Rifles & Shotguns||Handguns|
|Permit to Purchase||FOID Required*||FOID Required*|
|Registration of Firearms||NO**||NO**|
|Licensing of Owners||FOID Required*||FOID Required*|
|Permit to Carry||NO||YES***|
* Subject to municipal control. Handguns have been banned in some municipalities. ** Chicago requires registration of all firearms. *** A FOID is required to transport a handgun.
Duty to retreat before using Deadly force outside of Special Places
Crimes Justifying use of Deadly Force outside of Special Places
Duty to Retreat when occupying special Places - Special places Mentioned in Statute such as Home, Workplace, Occupied Vehicle
Presumption of Reasonableness in Special Places - Unlawful Acts justifying use of Deadly Force in Special Places
|No - Unlawful and Forcible entry plus act of violence against a person in dwelling|
Immunity from Civil liability
Notable Provisions of this State's Self-Defense Law
How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Illinois
Prior to applying for an Illinois CCW permit every applicant must first:
- Complete 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an ISP approved Instructor.
- Have an Electronic Copy of your training certificate(s). You will be required to upload your electronic certificate during the application process.
- Have an Illinois Digital I.D.
Illinois residents, to be Eligible for a Concealed Carry License must meet the following requirements.
- You are at least 21 years old.
- You have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification card.
- You have not been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past 5 years.
- You do not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years.
- You are not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.
- You have not been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years.
- You may be eligible if you satisfy the above and no objections are filed by law enforcement.
To access the Illinois state police website and to apply for a CCW: Click Here
The cost is $150 for 5 years for Illinois residents and $300 for 5 years for out-of-state residents. You can also call the Illinois State Police @ (217) 782-7980.
Contact Us and let us know how we can improve this page!
#IllinoisFOIDcard #IllinoisFOIDrequirements #Illinoisgunlaws #Illinoisstategunlaws #Illinoisfirearmlaws #IllinoisCCWlaws #Illinoisselfdefenselaws #Illinoisgunpurchasinglaws
#Illinoisconcealedcarrylaws #Illinoisgunbans #Illinoishighcapacitymagazines #IllinoisSheriffsdepartments #Illinoisisantigun #Illinoisgunregulations #Illinoisgunrules
#Illinoisgunrights #Illinoishuntinglaws #GunsallowedinIllinois #Illinoisselfdefenseattorney #Illinoisselfdefenseinsurance #Illinoisstateattorneygeneral
#Illinoisdepartmentofjustice #Illinoisfirearmsafetydevices # #Illinoisgunlocks #Illinoisgunsafes #IllinoisDOJ #Illinoisfirearmpurchasesandtransfers
#HowtoobtainaCCWpermitinIllinois #IllinoisConcealedCarryWeaponsPermit #IllinoisCCWPermitClasses #TransportinggunsinIllinois #Illinoisgunregistration
#Illinoisgunconfiscation #Illinoisrestrictedgunlist #Illinoisguncontrol