Nevada Gun Laws
Nevada State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. Always Consult An Attorney
|Rifles & Shotguns||Handguns|
|Permit to Purchase||NO||NO|
|Registration of Firearms||NO||NO*|
|Licensing of Owners||NO||NO|
|Permit to Carry||NO||YES|
* As of October 1, 2007, Clark County requires individuals who are in the county for more than sixty days to register their handguns with local law enforcement. Registration of newly acquired handguns must be within seventy-two hours after taking title by purchase, gift or other transfer.
State Self-Defense Law Review: Always Consult An Attorney
Duty to retreat before using Deadly force outside of Special Places
Crimes Justifying use of Deadly Force outside of Special Places
Duty to Retreat when occupying special Places - Special places Mentioned in Statute such as Home, Workplace, Occupied Vehicle
Presumption of Reasonableness in Special Places - Unlawful Acts justifying use of Deadly Force in Special Places
|No, not for criminal cases; yes, for civil lawsuits, burglary, home invasion --- Deadly force may be used indwelling or place of abode against violent felonies|
Immunity from Civil liability
|Yes, for home defense unless overcome by clear and convincing evidence|
Notable Provisions of this State's Self-Defense Law
|It must appear that the killing was absolutely necessary and killer "endeavored to decline any further struggle before mortal blow given"|
How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Nevada
Nevada is a "shall issue" state for concealed carry. The County Sheriff shall issue a concealed firearms permit to qualified applicants.
Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (Clark County) CCW Page: CLICK HERE
To apply for a Concealed Firearm Permit, a person must successfully take an approved course in firearm safety and demonstrate competence and qualify with a semiautomatic handgun or revolver or both.
The courses are offered by private instructors and businesses that must be state approved.
CCW permits are issued in accordance with NRS 202.3653 – 202.369.
Concealed Firearm Permits are valid for a period of 5 years and can be renewed for additional 5 year periods.
A permit holder must carry the permit together with proper identification whenever they are in actual possession of the concealed firearm(s). The permit and proper identification must be presented to a peace officer upon request.
Failure to produce the permit and proper identification carry a civil penalty of $25.00. Carrying a concealed firearm without a permit is punishable by a category C felony.
Nevada recognizes Idaho, Mississippi, and South Dakota enhanced permits only.
Contact Us and let us know how we can improve this page!