Rhode Island Gun Laws
Rhode Island State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. Always Consult An Attorney
|Rifles & Shotguns||Handguns|
|Permit to Purchase||NO*||NO**|
|Registration of Firearms||NO||NO|
|Licensing of Owners||NO||NO|
|Permit to Carry||NO||YES|
*Application required and 7-day waiting period.
** Safety course and application required and 7-day waiting period.
State Self-Defense Law Review: Always Consult An Attorney
Duty to retreat before using Deadly force outside of Special Places
Crimes Justifying use of Deadly Force outside of Special Places
Duty to Retreat when occupying special Places - Special places Mentioned in Statute such as Home, Workplace, Occupied Vehicle
|Yes, unless you’re an owner, tenant or guest threatened with burglary or breaking and entering|
Presumption of Reasonableness in Special Places - Unlawful Acts justifying use of Deadly Force in Special Places
|Yes, but presumptions only apply to burglary or breaking and entering types of offenses|
Immunity from Civil liability
|Same presumptions apply in civil cases and in criminal cases|
Notable Provisions of this State's Self-Defense Law
How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Rhode Island
Pistol and Revolver Permits
RIGL §11-47-18 empowers the Attorney General to issue a license or permit to state residents 21 years of age or older to carry a pistol or revolver, whether concealed or not, upon a proper showing of need. In assessing the need of an applicant to carry a pistol or revolver, the Office also considers the issuance of a restricted permit for specified purposes.
By applying for a permit to carry a pistol or revolver with the Department of Attorney General, you are exercising your right under Rhode Island General Law §11-47-18. It is this statute which gives the Department of Attorney General the right and responsibility to administer this program in accordance with the law. It is intended as a service to the people of Rhode Island.