Texas Gun Laws
Texas State Gun And Self-Defense Laws: YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL. Always Consult An Attorney
|Rifles & Shotguns||Handguns|
|Permit to Purchase||NO||NO|
|Registration of Firearms||NO||NO|
|Licensing of Owners||NO||NO|
|Permit to Carry||NO||YES|
DPS administers the Handgun Licensing Program under the authority of theTexas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H.
*Effective January 1, 2016, individuals with concealed carry licenses will be permitted to carry openly, per House Bill 910 of the 2015 legislative session. Non-residents from states whose permits are recognized by Texas will also be allowed to open carry under the new law.
State Self-Defense Law Review: Always Consult An Attorney
Duty to retreat before using Deadly force outside of Special Places
Crimes Justifying use of Deadly Force outside of Special Places
|Aggravated kidnapping, murder, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, robbery, or aggravated robbery|
Duty to Retreat when occupying special Places - Special places Mentioned in Statute such as Home, Workplace, Occupied Vehicle
|No - Occupied habitation, vehicle, or place of business or employment|
Presumption of Reasonableness in Special Places - Unlawful Acts justifying use of Deadly Force in Special Places
|Yes - (A) To prevent the others eminent commission of arson, burglary, robbery, aggravated robbery, theft during the nighttime, or criminal mischief during the nighttime; or (B) To prevent the other who is fleeing imminently after committing burglary, robbery, aggravated robbery, or theft during the nighttime from escaping with the property. It is strongly recommended against chasing fleeing felons!|
Immunity from Civil liability
Notable Provisions of this State's Self-Defense Law
|Texas is famous for its statues allowing use of deadly force to defend property under some circumstances; given the indictments or attempted indictments into recent high-profile cases involving deadly force and defensive probably it is highly recommended against use of deadly force to defend property|
How to obtain a Concealed Carry Permit in Texas
The Texas Department of Public Safety administers the Texas Concealed Handgun Licensing (CHL) Program under the authority of the Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H. DPS licenses individuals to carry concealed handguns within Texas, evaluates the eligibility of applicants through criminal history background checks and monitors those currently licensed to ensure their continued eligibility. DPS also trains and certifies instructors who teach the required course to applicants. FOR LICENSING INFO, CLICK HERE
A training class is required; An individual can apply on-line with DPS after taking the class, or apply at the time you take your CHL class at any state approved instructional business.
The State requires only that the gun be legally-obtained, and that you carry only the category of handgun with which you qualified in class. If you use a revolver in class, then you may legally carry only a revolver. If you qualify with a semiautomatic pistol, then you may carry either a revolver or a semiautomatic pistol.
For Texas residents, the license will cost $140. Yet for senior citizens or indigent Texans, the cost is only $70. For active/honorably retired peace officers or active/retired judicial officers, the cost is $25. For elected felony prosecuting attorneys the fee is waived.
|TEXAS GUN LAWS||Open carry – no license||Concealed carry – no license||Concealed carry – licensed||Open carry – licensed (holstered)||Long guns (not in violation of disorderly statute)|
|GENERALLY||No||No||Yes, if no specific prohibition||Yes, if no specific prohibition||Yes, if no specific prohibition|
|Person’s own premises||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|In car or watercraft||No||Yes||Yes||Yes, if holstered||Yes|
|Any private premises open to public||No||No||Yes, unless 30.06 sign||Yes, unless 30.07 sign||Yes, unless no firearms sign|
|Educational institution (Not college)||No||No||No, unless written authorization||No unless written authorization||No, unless written authorization|
|Grounds where educational activity is being conducted (Not College)||No||No||No, unless written authorization||No, unless written authorization||No, unless written authorization|
|Educational institution vehicle||No||No||No, unless written authorization||No, unless written authorization||No, unless written authorization|
|High school, collegiate, or professional sporting event (Except shooting events)||No||No||No||No||Yes, unless no firearms sign|
|Public college campus||No||No||No, until 8-1-16 (4 year schools) or 8-1-17 (Jr. colleges). Then yes unless 30.06 sign.||No||No|
|Private college campus||No||No||No, until 8-1-16. Then yes unless prohibited on campus.||No||No|
|Polling place-day of election or early voting||No||No||No||No||No|
|Building with court or court offices||No||No||No, unless court authorized||No, unless court authorized||No, unless court authorized|
|Government meeting||No||No||Yes, unless 30.06 sign||Yes, unless 30.07 sign||Yes, unless no firearms sign|
|Government facilities generally||No||No||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|Secure areas of police facilities||No||No||Yes, unless notice and compliance with Gov. Code §411.207||Yes, unless notice and compliance with Gov. Code §411.207||Yes, unless no firearms sign|
|Secured area of airport||No||No||No, but no offense if they leave when asked||No||No|
|Premises of TABC licensed business with 51% sign.||No||No||No||No||Yes, unless no firearms sign|
|Hospital or nursing home||No||No||Yes, unless 30.06 sign||Yes, unless 30.07 sign||Yes, unless no firearms sign|
|Place of worship||No||No||Yes, unless 30.06 sign||Yes, unless 30.07 sign||Yes, unless no firearms sign|
|Place of employment||No||No||Yes, unless prohibited by employer (yes in own vehicle) or other prohibition||Yes, unless prohibited by employer (yes in own vehicle) or other prohibition||Yes, unless prohibited by employer (yes in own vehicle) or other prohibition|
|Any place with “no firearms” posted including public or private facilities||No||No||Yes, unless 30.06 sign and not otherwise prohibited||Yes, unless 30.07 sign and not otherwise prohibited||No|
Contact Us and let us know how we can improve this page!